Not this shit again.

5 07 2008

This. And this.

I’m getting such an 80’s/90’s Judas Priest/Marilyn Manson vibe from this story, it’s not funny.

It’s all bullshit, of course. And yes, I realize I am a couple months late on this, but I had to say something.

I’m not emo. Not at all. I wear bright colors; I shop at H&M and Forever 21, I enjoy things like listening to folk music and actually having political views. I’m definitely not a My Chemical Romance fan, so, rest assured, I have no ulterior motives about writing this.

IT’S NOT ABOUT THE EMO.

Hannah Bond was a troubled kid, no doubt. And her suicide is a huge tragedy. But do people seriously believe that My Chemical Romance/the so called emo “cult” led her to do it? Wow. People are so eager to blame bad shit on dumb teenage trends that it’s actually unbelievable. I remember Crazy Bones (you know, those little plastic things) being banned at my elementary school because some kid threw one at another kid’s head, but that’s a story for another time.

Wow. This media sensationalism is out of control.

About the self-harming: of course people who self-harm and are confronted about it are going to make something up! Granted, the “emo initiation” story is a bit more inventive than what people usually use (the cat scratched me, etc.), but didn’t it occur to anyone that she might have been lying? That’s what addicts do. And yes, self-harm can be an addiction.

Oh yeah, and no red flags were set off by the fact that the girl said that she wanted to kill herself? Do people really think that was all part of the “emo” fad?

The stupid abounds.

(By the way, I had a lovely Pride. Nothing that needed its own post, though. Just fun times.)

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 07 2008
Tirade

Everything in the world can be blamed on ‘the kids these days and their …’

7 07 2008
Zula

While I admit I find a good chunk of “emo” kids/music/culture to be irritating, I highly doubt that any of them are actually dumb enough to consider committing suicide just because it’s the trendy thing to do.

Really, the parents’ reactions are no different than blaming the Columbine shootings on The Matrix and video games. They don’t want to believe that their perfect little girl who they raised in the perfect little home could possibly have been depressed or have had any other sort of mental illness, so in their sorrow they lash out at something else; emo happens to be an easy target.

Leave a Reply

