Age of Consent Raised in Canada

3 05 2008

It’s officially, as of last Thursday, been raised to 16.

Honestly, my feelings are quite mixed about this. Primarily, I was worried that there wouldn’t be a close-in-age exemption, but there is. So, hopefully, we won’t have another Genarlow Wilson case, which is primarily, what I was worried about.

However, I worry about how this is going to impact young people’s access to sexual health services, such as contraceptives, abortion, and things like pelvic exams. By law, doctors, teachers, and other adults in positions of authority are required to report suspected child abuse; under this law, having sex with a 14 or 15 year old constitutes child abuse – and I’m guessing a lot of people will choose to ignore the fact that the close-in-age exemption exists. How is a 14-year-old girl going to get access to birth control if she can’t ask her doctor for it, for fear that legal action could be taken?

And this article has it all wrong. Hyperbole much?

Under the old law, it was still illegal for adults in positions of power (teachers and whatnot), to have sex with teenagers. And, no, a 14 or 15 year old is not a “child”. They are a teenager.

And you gotta love this line: (sarcasm, of course):

“No longer must parents and police watch as their children are lured off to some other city with a man who promises them love and excitement.”

No. Just, no. Kidnapping was always illegal. Sex trafficking was always illegal. Luring someone under 16 from their home – none of it was legal in the first place!

Most child/youth sexual abuse doesn’t start this way. The vast majority of it takes place in the home. But, of course, it’s so much easier to look at the scary men coming from the outside, rather than tackling the monsters hiding in homes around the world.

Actions

Information

12 responses

3 05 2008
Brianne

This just makes me scratch my head. Today in Catechisis classes (ugh, conservatives) we had a lengthy discussion on why sex shouldn’t be had before you’re married.

It just always seems like people are restricting teens from these things to protect us, but in a way it’s hurting the ones that need the guidance.

Do you understand what I’m trying to say?

5 05 2008
Lyndsay

I’m kind of confused by this. So people under 16 have to be with someone no more than five years older than them to have sex? I thought that was how it already was. I’m don’t get it.

5 05 2008
Are You Fruity?

SCREW THE CHINESE
THEY’RE ALMOST AS BAD AS US
I’M MOVING TO THE NETHERLANDS

5 05 2008
missnomered

Bryce, I know that’s you spamming my guestbook blog. I meant blog, dammit. 😛

5 05 2008
Are You Fruity?

i’m on my mum’s computer and i didn’t want to be too…obvious. she’s been a little bitchy ever since I made that “Don’t Let Sodomites Recruit You Into Their Lifestyle!” picture my profile picture.
so I chose somthing i knew you’d recognize 🙂

5 05 2008
missnomered

Oops! Sorry hon!

5 05 2008
Are You Fruity?

lol don’t be sorry
i was glad to explain

5 05 2008
Quack

oops

7 05 2008
Sunflower

The close-in-age exemption (especially, that they made it five years, not just two as it is in a number of places in the US) makes this palatable for me, but I’m not very happy about it. It appears to involve much the same reasoning as came into play with the push for tighter gun control after the L’Ecole Polytechnique shooting – the weapon Lepine used was already illegal, but the incident nevertheless led to an outcry to ban other weapons.

If we really want to make sure that the newly-pubescent aren’t vulnerable to exploitive sexual relationships, we need to make sure our teens are equipped with a strong sense of personal agency – including, but it can’t be restricted to, their right to say “no”.

(I got pointed in your direction a week or two ago in a private communication from a friend, and have been looking for a good opportunity to de-lurk and say hi. You do fine work; the future of Canadian feminism is in good hands!)

Sunflower

7 05 2008
missnomered

Hey sunflower,

Thanks for stopping by! And thank you! Mind if I ask you who pointed you here (as in, do I know them in the “real world”?)

Thanks for stopping by!

9 05 2008
Sunflower

‘Twas Belledame of “Fetch Me My Axe”, so, no, I’m pretty sure no IRL connection. I’m not sure how she came across you, she didn’t say – my guess is that you left a comment at her place or somewhere else she reads, and she followed the linktrail.

Sunflower

9 05 2008
Sunflower

‘Twas Belledame of “Fetch Me My Axe”, so, no, I’m pretty sure no IRL connection. I’m not sure how she came across you, she didn’t say – my guess is that you left a comment at her place or somewhere else she reads, and she followed the linktrail.

Sunflower

Leave a Reply

