Sorry, your religious beliefs don’t give you licence to be an asshole.

26 04 2008

So the National Post (Canadian conservative mouthpiece newspaper, for those of you not in the know), published this lovely article today, about the fine, upstanding moral Catholic pharmacists and doctors (notice the blatant sarcasm), who won’t give people birth control or emergency contraceptives, and violate several codes of ethics in doing such.

Gag me with a spoon.

Yes, you are entitled to your beliefs. No, as a medical professional, you are not entitled to impose them on people who need their fricking medication.

And don’t even get me started on the so-called “moral values” of saving sex for marriage. Please don’t. My personal moral philosophy is simply “Harm none”. Why is that so hard for others to grasp? In short: please, right-wingers, get the fuck out of my sex life. (Or lack therof at this point). And everyone else’s, for that matter.

Not prescribing birth control or emergency contraceptives because of your proclaimed beliefs in the “sanctity of life” or “morality” is just absurd. How is it protecting anyone if a teenager in a rural area is denied birth control, and later gets pregnant? I have a friend who, at the time, lived in a rural area, when she thought she may have done something that could potentially have gotten her pregnant. She had to get her mother to drive her to a pharmacy, which was quite a ways away, to get the EC pill. But, she did, and continued with her life as usual.

What if she had one of these “moral” citizens as her pharmacist? What would she have done? And where, possibly, would she be now?

Jesus Christ. (No pun intended). Not everyone is taking birth control for “impure” reasons (although, to quote Seinfeld, not that there’s anything wrong with that). I take it for acne and awful cramps. If I lived in a remote area, deny me my prescription and I’m doubled over in pain, breaking out in pimples, and I probably won’t like you very much.

So much for pretending to care about people, huh?

Actions

Information

7 responses

26 04 2008
queerunity

I heard WalMart will not sell birth control because they don’t want to “violate” pharmacists religiofacist opinions? This is ridiculous. Another reason to hate WalMart.
http://www.queersunited.blogspot.com

26 04 2008
Elizabeth McClung

My ‘tolerance’ ran out when a doctor who works at a street clinic wouldn’t treat my partner or I because we use HRT to regulate our periods, I mean there is perimenapuase, PCOS, and a whole list of conditions which require the use of “birth control” to be used to regulate menstration and hormone balance. Anyway; my personal belief if that these people should be stripped of thier credentials, since the oath dictates treatment, and if you can’t handle that, you are no different than places in Texas that still leave people with AIDS in rooms for days with no treatment. I grew up in a cult that did not allow medical intervention of any kind because “if God loves you and you trust God then you will be healed” (I mean that included someone’s tooth getting knocked out – they said, “Put it in, and if God wants to heal you, it will be healed” – good medical practice). So why not have all the doctors, pharmacists and the like who are “good people” regarding birth control get THEIR medical treatment from my cult (I am sure it is still around) – I know that being told “IF you have TRUE faith, you will be healed” might not be really FUN when you have a broken leg but they have actually more scriptual evidence to back it up than the birth control squad (try James, try I & II John).

No, I’m not in a happy mood – or as the bible they use says, “Let God bless them who bless me and curse them who curse me.” or as it is written “Mene, Mene, Tekel, Upharsin” : (translation) You have been sifted and counted, weighed and divided and you are found lacking.

27 04 2008
radhika

ugh. and here i am in the united states yearning for a progressive paradise like canada; guess i was in the wrong. 😦

28 04 2008
Elizabeth McClung

sorry, about the post earlier, that came out a little harsher than intended, I was having a not happy day.

28 04 2008
missnomered

Elizabeth:

No worries. You were pretty much right. And we all have bad days sometimes.

Hope today was better.

1 05 2008
Lyndsay

Ahhhhhh, if Canada ever starts passing laws to restrict reproductive control at the rate of America, I want out of here.

The article says: it is very odd that religious people are the majority in Canada and yet they often act like a minority.

Good!

Yeah, I saw the link to your blog on feministing. It’s interesting!

9 04 2009
Help! The gays are oppressing me! « Miss Nomered

[…] I swear, these people stopped just short of saying “HELP, THE GAYS SNATCHED MY PENIS!” Like, I’ve seen some bad anti-gay marriage ads in my time, but never have I seen a group of people so threatened by the sexuality of others! “Dark clouds”? Give me a break. And what’s this about “I’m a doctor who must choose between my faith and my job.” I’m sorry, but as I have said before, if you’re a doctor who refuses to do your job because it violates your so-called “moral” beliefs, you’re probably an asshole. […]

Leave a Reply

